Career Destinations

This list provides an example of the successful careers Postdoctoral Researchers and PhD students from our group have followed since leaving Sheffield. We hope the training and experience they obtained whilst with us has seen them in good stead for their future careers. The dates indicate the approximate year in which they left our group.


Name New Job Left LDSD In
Andrew Foster Quantum Photonics Engineer, Aegiq Ltd, UK 2022
Tintu Kuriakose Postdoctoral Research Assistant, University of Oxford, UK 2022
Hamidreza Siampour Research Associate, University of Cambridge, UK 2022
Cosmo Lupo Associate Professor, Politecnico di Bari, Italy 2021
Thomas Lyons JSPS Research Fellow, RIKEN, Japan 2021
Charles Whittaker Optical Scientist, Microsoft, UK 2021
Zixin Huang Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Macquarie University, Australia 2021
Joschka Roffe Research Associate, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany 2021
Davide Maria Di Paola Research Associate, EPFL , Switzerland 2021
Luca Sortino Research Associate, Politecnico di Milano, Italy 2020
Armando Genco Postdoctoral Research Fellow, LMU München, Germany 2020
Joe Maguire Development Physicist, Edwards Vacuum, UK 2020
Maksym Sich CEO, Aegiq Ltd, Sheffield, UK 2019
Scott Dufferwiel CTO, Aegiq Ltd, Sheffield, UK 2019
Zaffar Zaidi XFAB Process development engineer 2019
Emiliano Cancellieri Data Scientist, Kantar (London) 2019
Zofia Bishop Senior Engineering Technician, Multidisciplinary Engineering Education at the University of Sheffield 2018
David Price Development Engineer, Independent Forgings and Alloys (IFA Ltd.) 2018
Chris Bentham Software Engineer, Linedata 2018
John O’Hara Postdoc, Tyndall Institute, Cork, Ireland 2017
Benjamin Royall Senior Process Engineer, Huawei, Ipswich 2017
Dmitry Revin Chief Engineer, Stratium Limited 2017
Mark Pearce Data Scientist, dunnhumby 2017
Feng Li Professor, Xi’an Jiaotong University 2017
Deivis Vaitiekus Process Engineer, SPTS 2017
John Bradley Software Engineer, Elsevier 2016
Feng Liu Postdoc, RWTH Aachen University 2016
Rikki Coles Software Engineer, AMRC 2016
Nikola Prtljaga Research Scientist, Gooch & Housegoo 2016
Stefan Schwarz Application Engineer, Edmund Optics 2016
Jasmin Chana Research Scientist, Base4 Innovation 2016
Andreas Waeber Postdoc TU Munich 2016
James Dixon Scientific Consultant, Nuclear Technologies 2016
Lloyd Tinkler Consultant development engineer at AMRC, Sheffield, UK 2015
John Quilter Postdoc, Royal Holloway, University of London 2014
Ehsaneh Daghigh Ahmadi Postdoc, Stevens Institute of Technology, New Jersey, USA 2014
Romain Toro Development Engineer, CIP, Huawei, Ipswich 2014
Daniel Sercombe Process Engineer, Intel, Dublin 2013
François Fras Lecturer, Université de Strasbourg 2013
Nicholas Wasley Consultant physicist, Sagentia 2013
Jorge Puebla Development Engineer, Attocube 2013
Oleksandr Tsyplyatyev Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Birmingham 2013
A.J. Ramsay Senior Research Scientist, Hitachi Cambridge 2012
I.J. Luxmoore Research Fellow, University of Exeter 2012
Dyfrig Davies Nuclear Engineer, EDF UK 2012
Tim Godden Physicist, Phase Focus 2012
SJ Boyle Software Engineer, Dorset Software 2011
P. Commin Device Engineer, Oclaro, Zurich 2011
Sang Lam Professor, Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University 2011
Claire Elliot National Physical Laboratory (UK), research engineer 2010
Abdalla Khalifa Professor Libya 2010
P Aivaliotis Device Engineer, Oclaro, UK 2010
S Davies Device Engineer, Oclaro, UK 2010
D Szymanski Device Engineer, Oclaro, UK 2010
N Babazedah Research Associate, EEE Department Sheffield 2010
B D Jones Scientific Branch, Home Office UK 2009
Fabrice P Laussy
Ramón y Cajal fellow at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
R Kolodka Research, CEA, Grenoble 2009
J C Lin Software 2008
J Skiba-Szymanska Research, Toshiba, Cambridge 2008
S Menzel R&D, Fraunhofer Society, Germany 2008
R Oulton Lecturer, University of Bristol 2008
A Chalcraft Postdoc, University of Sheffield 2008
B Carpenter Web design, Sheffield 2008
E Zibik Device Technologist, Oclaro, Zurich 2008
A Nickolaenko Postdoc, Southampton 2008
Y Jang Postdoc, Chung Nam University, Korea 2008
T Badcock Postdoc, University of Manchester 2007
D Sanvitto Professor, University of Lecce 2007
A Hashemizadeh Professor, Iran 2007
A Daraei Professor, Iran 2007
A Alyamani Professor, Nanotechnology Centre, Saudi Arabia 2007
S Ceccarelli IEE Publishing 2007
W H Ng Technical Sales Engineer, Lambda Photometrics 2007
D Kundys Postdoc, ORC Southampton 2006
A Ebbens Postdoc, University of Dortmund, Germany 2006
F Pulizzi Editorial Team of Nature Materials, London 2005
R Green Postdoc, NEST, Italy 2005
W Fan Postdoc, University of Leeds 2004
I R Sellers Professor, University of Oklahoma 2004
L R Wilson EPSRC Advanced Fellow, Sheffield 2003
A M Adawi Postdoc, Physics (organics group) Sheffield. Lecturer, University of Hull 2003
K W Groom Lecturer EEE Sheffield 2003
P W Fry Postdoc, EEE and Physics, Sheffield 2003
M J Steer Postdoc, EEE Sheffield 2003
R Butte Senior Researcher, EPFL, Lausanne 2003
R Oulton Postdoc, University of Dortmund 2003
A D Bristow Professor, University of West Virginia 2003
R Shimada Sony, Japan 2002
M Emam-Ismael University Lecturer, Egypt 2002
D Carder Postdoc, FELIX, University of Utrecht 2002
S R Parnell Postdoc, Rutherford Laboratory 2002
M Rahn Spin-out, University of Manchester 2002
J J Finley Professor, Technical University, Munich 2002
V N Astratov Professor, University of North Carolina 2001
P T Keightley AWE, Aldermaston 2001
R M Stevenson Senior Researcher, Toshiba Europe 2001
A Lemaitre CNRS, LPN, Marcoussis 2001
K L Schumacher Postdoc, Imperial College 1999
D Baxter Careers Training Officer 1998
A Armitage Aerospace Industry 1998
N Cain Software 1998
W R Tribe Senior Researcher, Teraview, Cambridge 1998
Y B Li Financial Software 1998
O P Kowalski Senior Scientist, Intense Photonics 1998
D W Peggs Teaching Profession, Sweden, Russia 1997
M Birkett Executive Director, Finance, Goldman Sachs 1997
R Teissier Professor, Montpellier 1996
T A Fisher Lecturer, University of Western Australia 1996
R A Hogg Professor, EEE Department, Sheffield (previously Agilent) 1995
W I E Tagg Senior Executive Logica 1994
P D Buckle Senior Scientist, Qinetiq, Malvern. Senior Lecturer Cardiff 2011 1994 login problems with gmail account and sign in tips